LSAT 62 Stained Glass Windows Game 2: Setup Rule 4 Pitfall! Part I

LSAT 62 Stained Glass Windows Game 2: Setup Rule 4 Pitfall!

If no P, then O.
Contrapositive:
The contrapositive is triggered because we see a conditional (“if..”)

The simple form of the contrapositive of: if no A, then B is: If no B, then A.

The contrapositive translates to: if no B, then no not A – in other words, if no B, then A.
Pitfall:
The LSAT will oftentimes invite you to make errors. The real killer on the games is if you get a rule wrong – or even worse, make a false deduction. This particular contrapositive is tricky, because it invites you to make a mistake: that P & O can’t go together. This is, in fact, untrue.

P & O can go together. If you make the mistake of “deducing” that P & O cannot both show, you will easily blow at least 4 out of the 7 questions of this game.
Therefore, it’s important to think through what this rule actually means. Here’s how we depict it:

LSATwin 62 Stained Glass Windows Game 2 Setup Rule 4 Part I LSAT 62 Stained Glass Windows Game 2: Setup Rule 4 Pitfall! Part I

LSATwin.net LSAT 62 Stained Glass Windows Game 2 Setup Rule 4 Part I

Next: Pitfall! Part II